High Country Annual Editions


High Country Annuals currently available for each year 2009 to 2013 (five different ones).

These perfect bound volumes reprint an entire year’s High Country magazines in one convenient edition. Easy to stack; perfect to shelve; excellent to display.

The black and white printing inside these is as high a quality as the originals. The type is crisp and the pictures are smooth.

Until June 1st, 2014 we have a “Buy one; get one free” deal going on. When you purchase one High Country Annual Edition at the regular price, you’ll get the next year free. So if you buy 2011, you’ll get both 2011 and 2012. Since we only have editions through 2013, when you buy 2013 it will roll over to the beginning and give you 2009.

Or if you just tell us which one of the years you want for free in the comments that’s fine too. Maybe you only like the even years, maybe you want 2013 twice.

2014-2016 PSA Board of Directors Election Results

The results are in.

Your 612 ballots (100 more than 2010) narrowed our list of excellent candidates into the January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2016 PSA Board.

Please join me in offering your congratulations to them.

President: John Murphy, Tyler, TX (1972-74)
VP Membership: Colleen McLaughlin Nutter, Highlands Ranch, CO (1988-92, 95)
VP Service: Tim Rosseisen, Breckenridge, CO (1984-93, 94 & PTC Faculty)
VP Development: Warren Smith, Charlotte, NC (1975-79, 84-85)
Treasurer: Matt Lindsey, Nacogdoches, TX (1987)
Secretary: Adam Fromm, Arlington, VA (1999-2001)

Regional Directors
Northeast: Kathleen Seitz, South Glastonbury, CT (1981-83)
Northeast: Rick Touchette, Coeymans, NY (1971-72, 74-77)

Central: Mitchell Standard, Macomb, IL (1984-85)
Central: Phil Winegardner, Overland Park, KS (1969-74)

Southern: Anne Marie Pinkenburg, Fort Worth, TX (1992-95, 97)
Southern: Doug Wahl, Pawleys Island, SC (1996, 98-2000)

Western: Nancy Coleman, Las Vegas, NV (1997-2003)
Western: Michael Waggoner, Centreville, UT (1994-94, 98-2005)

National Directors
Amy Douglass Boyle, Lander, WY (1978, 80)
Ken Davis, Alexandria, VA (1960-63, 65-66 & PTC Faculty)
Bryan Delaney, Atlanta, GA (1998-2013)
Mark Griffin, Grapevine, TX (1995-2000 & PTC Faculty)
Cathy Stoddard Hubbard, Middleton, WI (1976-77, 2012)
Lee Huckstep, Houston, TX (1971-72, 74, 76-77)
Steve Rick, Cimarron, NM (1978-81, 83-84)

2013 Silver Sage Awardee: Gene Schnell

Gene Schnell has served 29 summers on the Philmont seasonal staff, and will be back again this year. He serves as the Dean of Students, teaches history and coaches men’s track at Trinity Catholic High School in St. Louis.

Gene began his Philmont career as the Director of the Philmont Training Center (the last volunteer to hold hat post) and later served multiple years as Director of Headquarters Services. He is best known, however, for his nearly two decades of service as a Backcountry Manager and his current role in Backcountry Support. In those roles, the legendary “Unit 41” directly inspired several generations of backcountry staff and is revered by current staff for his ability to hike far younger staffers into the dirt, his insistence on quality in program and service to Philmont participants, and his unceasing work ethic. Gene is regarded by Philmont management as the de facto quality improvement director for the backcountry operation.

A long-time member of the national Order of the Arrow Committee, Gene has also been instrumental in the creation, development, and continued success of the OA Trail Crew Trek program at Philmont. For more than 15 years, he has served as staff advisor for the program and has really been the primary “shaper” of the program and its objectives. Gene is a recipient of the Order of the Arrow’s Distinguished Service Award.